The more that I think about it, the more I like it.

This blog has more love for Jesse Eisenberg love than a seventeen-year-old’s Tumblr page (…zing?), but I have to say that I’m pretty thrilled that he won Best Actor from the National Board of Review. I know that everyone gets angry about NBR no matter who wins (people are just mad that they can’t predict the winners because the whole thing is just so…well, unpredictable), but I think Eisenberg totally deserves it.

And as I think about his performance in The Social Network, I just feel more in awe of it. A lesser actor would sound ridiculous and forced trying to spew out Aaron Sorkin’s verbal venom. And anyone who says that he’s a cold or unsympathetic character missed the point of the movie, if you ask me. Zuckerberg’s not LIKEABLE, but he’s startlingly relatable. And in the scenes where Zuckerberg lets his guard down – even just the slightest crack – Eisenberg has the perfect gesture or look in his eye to let the audience in on whatever his character is feeling.

So bring on the awards season love, if that’s where this whole thing is headed. It’s an emotionally restrained performance, and I’m not sure if Oscar voters go for that, but in my eyes, he’s 100% deserving.

Throw in Franco, Firth, and Gosling, and you’ve got one sexy Best Actor line-up (oh, uh, and I guess Robert Duvall would be there, too). Can it happen? Can it PLEASE happen?

One response to “The more that I think about it, the more I like it.

  1. I never knew or heard of Jesse Eisenberg before “The Social Network.” I knew of “The Squid and the Whale,” “Adventureland” and “Zombieland,” but I never knew of Jesse. In fact when news that a “Facebook movie” was being made, I was not that interested because I didn’t know most of the cast. But I convinced my friend to watch “The Social Network” on the first day of release (well, we’re both fans of David Fincher) so we got off work early because we were just intrigued by the whole concept: HOW EXACTLY DO YOU MAKE AN INTERESTING MOVIE ABOUT THE BIRTH OF FACEBOOK?

    From the first scene at the bar, it was like Jesse grabbed a hold of me and I just couldn’t free myself. The last time a film character made such a big impact was Ralph Fiennes as Amon Goeth in “Schindler’s List.” And Ralph, who’s been nominated for an Oscar too, is now is considered one of the finest actors of his generation.

    Jesse is truly one beholding actor to watch. Fincher and Aaron Sorkin are geniuses in their field, but I believe what made “The Social Network” really work was because Jesse played the lead so brilliantly (not to dismiss the supporting cast because they are all talented). But Jesse owns the film, period. And I am hoping this NBR award is just a start and other big awards are in the offing.

Leave a Reply

